The Thirsting Soul Satisfied in God

Psalm 63:1
O God, You are my God, I shall seek you earnestly; My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You. In a dry and weary land where there is no water.
This is powerful. Right now, I feel as though I live in such an environment. I have no desire to continue on in this place, yet I still am here. So the only thing I need to do is to seek the Lord, and let Him live through my life. When I pursue earthly pleasures, I get disappointed. They are fun for a little while, but nothing takes the place of the Lord. He is the only one who can fulfill every single thing that I need. Things I don’t even know that I need. So while i search for water and for nourishment in this land, I am missing the true water and nourishment. The true joy and completeness. All I need is the Lord, and He will fulfill me. I pray that my flesh will yearn for the Lord. Right now, my flesh yearns for earthly pleasures. Music, books that are depraved, companionship. These are all temporary things that may lead to destruction. But the Lord is forever, and passes even after death. I pray that my flesh will truly yearn for Him, and I’ll know what that feels like.
3 – Because your loving kindness is better than life.
Wow. What a phrase. At this point in time, it’s not hard to imagine that. Life has bitterly failed me. But The Lord’s loving kindness would be what keeps us. It’s better than life. Better than anything we could ever imagine. This is all I have left, the pleasures of life are dull compared to the loving kindness of the Lord.
5 – My soul is satisfied as with marrow and fatness..
To imagine that. To be physically hungry, but to be spiritually full. The Lord is good.
6 – When I remember you on my bed, I meditate on you in the night watches. For You have been my help. And in the shadow of Your wings I sing for joy. My soul clings to You, Your right hand upholds me.
To rely so much on the Lord that He even takes the place of sleep. You are meditated on in the night. King David hid in your wings, he clung to you with his soul, You upheld him. He couldn’t do life without You. Literally. That’s the type of dependency I want to have. Where my soul feels empty without you, and physical needs are only met with God. I hide in my God, and sing praises to you. You lift me up, and give me strength.
Standard

Leave a Reply

